Certifications to Become a Cloud Architect

Architecture is the heart of all IT. It is the formal discipline that dictates the design, composition and working of computer systems.

Cloud architecture mainly deals with the people who use computing and related services, along with the systems used to operate them and the networks that tie in all these systems together. The other major stream that Cloud architecture runs with are best practices associated with technology and its use in the organization.

What does a cloud architect do?

While cloud architecture is quite new, it is firmly rooted in software development as it provides the pivotal figure of a chief designer and overseer for large-scale, complex software projects. Systems such as database management, transaction processing and enterprise resource planning are some examples of multidimensional cloud computing at work.

Cloud architects do a turn-key job in that they take care of the project through its entire life cycle starting from inception, APIs and standards to follow to get its final functionality.

Key skills

These careers need an equal amount of soft skills and technical skills. A cloud architect needs to have a thorough understanding of enterprise computing to know how enterprises use information technology, which translates to a degree in computer science, MIS or informatics.

Apart from having working knowledge of client systems and applications, candidates must be an expert in at least one of the following: networking infrastructure, data centers, web tools and technologies, databases and Big Data and ERP.

Soft skills like communication, managing people of all levels and effective leadership skills to make a robust IT blueprint for the organization are a must. Planning and organizing skills to enhance the productivity or profitability of projects is a business requirement.


The top five certifications for cloud architects in 2016 are:

  1. AWS-CSA Professional
  2. EMC Cloud Architect (EMCCA)
  3. CompTIA Cloud+
  4. MCSE: Private Cloud
  5. VMware VCP6 – Cloud

Image Credits