F5 Networks Certification: Overview and Careers

Starting out with a BIG-IP server load-balancing product line, F5 Labs has progressed to a technology better known as application delivery networking (ADN). This cloud optimization technology is at the heart of data centers and the cloud all around the globe.

F5 Networks Certification Programs

Because F5 is in such high demand, the F5 Networks certification program is a worthy IT credential that enables you to develop, manage and maintain the company’s solutions.

Primarily, there are three certifications in the F5 Networks certification program.

  • F5 Certified BIG-IP Administrator (F5-CA)
  • F5 Certified Technology Specialist (F5-CTS)
  • F5 Certified Solution Expert (F5-CSE)

F5 Certified BIG-IP Administrator (F5-CA)

An F5 Certified BIG-IP Administrator can undertake the day-to-day management of ADNs, and analyse and solve issues with F5 Traffic Management Operating System (TMOS) devices. You will need to appear for two examinations to obtain this certification:

  • Exam 101 – Application Delivery Fundamentals
  • Exam 201 – TMOS Administration

F5 strongly recommends having a firm grasp over networking theories and protocols, traffic management and TMOS mechanisms, as well as working with virtual servers.

F5 Certified Technology Specialist (F5-CTS)

This covers four different specializations. These need you to have the F5 Certified Administrator certification.

Local Traffic Manager (LTM): This is for IT specialists who design, operate and maintain complex F5 products, and comprehend the integration of LTM into existing networks.

  • Exam 301a – LTM Specialist: Architect, Setup, and Deploy
  • Exam 301b – LTM Specialist: Maintain and Troubleshoot

Global Traffic Manager (GTM): The GTM is a specialized certification for application delivery architects and engineers.

  • Exam 302 – GTM Specialist

Application Security Manager (ASM): An ASM designs, operates and maintains ASM to protect ADNs. Students need to see the correlation between ASM and Web applications, troubleshoot issues and comprehend integration techniques.

  • Exam 303 – ASM Specialist

Access Policy Manager (APM): Manages an ADN and is an expert on technologies that work with the F5 TMOS operating system. Candidates should know remote access, verification and authorization, and working with APM.

  • Exam 304 – APM Specialist

If you have finished all four CTS exams, the top certification is the F5 solution expert.

F5 Certified Solution Expert (F5-CSE)

The F5 Certified Solution Expert partners with clients to detect areas for security and technical business requirements, to come up with custom solutions. Candidates need to have solution design experience for the various F5 technologies.

  • Exam 401 – Security Solution Expert

Image Credits